Boycotting Facebook

After the cartoon controversy on Facebook, some Muslims removed/deleted their facebook accounts while most continued to use their accounts on one pretext or another. I was one of the users who removed their accounts from facebook. But I found that my fellow Muslims, rather than appreciating or encouraging this move, started raising questions, making fun and even fighting with me on this move! I tried to answer them to the best of my abilities, but was not able to convince many, infact anyone πŸ™‚ So much so, that I started wavering a bit as well. I found this excellent fatwa on askimam.org, which made me come back on the track, Alhamdolillah. Hopefully for some of you, it might be helpful to take the decision to quit facebook.

Click here to read, AskImam’s detailed reply on the initial and continued boycott of facebook.

I have switched to Google+, if you want to add me, find me through my email, amad.uddin@gmail.com

2 thoughts on “Boycotting Facebook”

  1. I support… I also quit the FB around 2 years back. During that time, when my wife joined back to peek into FB and found that almost all of the pplz who were supporting the Boycott/Quit regime joined back… was shocking and were surprised how pplz got changed from their initial stance!!!

    Also, Facebook was/is more like a Fakebook, I feel people lie a lot!!! And that I hate… a lot πŸ™‚

    1. Ha ha ha, I noticed that too. Infact the person who convinced me to quit, (before I didn’t even know about such a group etc) re-joined two days later, even before the group owner closed the group! He said that it is for ‘Dawa’ purpose πŸ˜‰

      May Allah accept our boycott and may HE give us Jannah and save us from Hell Fire!

Leave a Reply

